Watercolor Wisconsin 2021 Virtual Opening Reception and Awards Ceremony

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2021 – Apr 23, 2022

441 Main St.
Racine, WI 53403

Watercolor Wisconsin 2021 Virtual Opening Reception and Awards Ceremony

Tuesday, December 14

6:00 pm CST

Presented simultaneously via Zoom and Facebook Live

Due to the changing health climate, the Watercolor Wisconsin 2021 Opening Reception and Awards Ceremony has been changed to a virtual event to ensure the safety of participants and staff. This event will broadcast via Zoom on Tuesday, December 14 at 6:00 pm CST. The Virtual Opening Reception will include a brief presentation with RAM Executive Director and Curator of Collections Bruce W. Pepich as well as an awards ceremony presented by RAM Curator of Exhibitions Lena Vigna.

To register for this free online event via Zoom, please use the RSVP function below. If multiple people will be viewing together from a single device, you only need to RSVP for one person. You will receive a confirmation email containing the Zoom link upon registration.



About the Exhibition

Now in its 55th year, Watercolor Wisconsin was started in 1966 to honor the depth and breadth of watercolor in the State of Wisconsin. This year’s show at RAM’s Wustum Museum features 110 works by 97 Wisconsin artists.

Jurors for the 2021 exhibition are Sarah Cox and Carole Hennessy. Cox is the Manager of Exhibitions and Collections at the Elmhurst Art Museum, Elmhurst, Illinois. She also manages the Mies van der Rohe design home, the McCormick House, located on the museum’s campus. Previously, Cox was the Manager of Collections and Exhibitions at the Zanesville Museum of Art, in Zanesville, Ohio.

Carole Hennessy serves as President of the Watercolor Honor Society and is on the Board of the Illinois Watercolor Society. She is a watercolor artist and educator who has exhibited both nationally and internationally for over 40 years. In addition, Hennessy owned and operated a gallery and frame shop in Quincy, Illinois and later in Downers Grove, Illinois.

Virtual Opening Reception and Awards Ceremony, December 14 at 6:00 pm CST

Artists in the Exhibition

Appleton: Gary Hanks; Baileys Harbor: Mitch Leavitt; Bayside: Judith Gahn Murphy; Brookfield: Laurie Runnoe; Cedarburg: Patrick Doughman, Bruce Hustad, Tom Kubala; Delavan: Kat Rodriguez, Sandra Willard; Egg Harbor: Annette Schuh; Fox Point: Francisco X. Mora; Franksville: Sue Horton; Fredonia:Katie Musolff; Glendale: Pat Hidson, Ann Tarantino Smith; Grafton: Jean Crane; Greendale: James Hartel; Hartford: Harold E. Hansen; Janesville: Barbara Mathews; Kenosha: Dennis Bayuzick, Dean Habegger, Don Hinrichs, Diane Levesque, Carlotta Miller, Dyan Tishuk, Sheillah Walsh; Lac du Flambeau:Christine Alfery; Lake Mills: Gail Juszczak, Mary Tilton; Madison: Theresa Drinka, Doug Haynes, Cary Hunkel, Elizabeth Sawyer Kelly, Helen Klebesadel, Jack Kloppenburg, Barbara Koykkar, Woody Olsen, Mary Reines, Jan Thompson, Daniel Torres, Mary Janey Wellensiek; Mequon: Kathleen Nelson, Alice Struck; Milwaukee: Karen Brittain, Ney Tait Frasier, Steve Horvath, Don Linke, Julia Taylor, Kiefer Ledell Waterman; Mt. Pleasant: Robert W. Andersen, Jerrold Belland; Muskego: Terry A. Fischer; Nashotah: Alice Rossman; Neenah: Kathryn Wedge; New Berlin: Julie San Felipe; North Prairie: Charlene L. Southworth; Oconomowoc: Virgilyn Driscoll, Marilu McCartney; Oregon: Tom Mohr; Oshkosh: Joye Moon; Pleasant Prairie: Judy Ballard; Racine: Doris Beaudry, Karen B. Broman, Caye Christensen, Deedee Dumont, Mary Dwyer, Lisa Englander, P.M. Fallon, Pat Gilbert, Ann Henkes, Karen Mathis, Sharon Mellberg, Janet Mrazek, John Nowicki, Thom Petersen, Lance Raichert, Cheryl Sachs, Susan M. Sorenson, Dina Walker, Kelly Witte; Sharon: Martha Hayden; Shorewood: Andrea Steiner; Spring Prairie: Veronica Gagliano Averkamp; Sturtevant: Jenny Pham, Mai Lee Yang; Thiensville: Tom Hovorka; Waterford: Bruce Boeck, Peggy Thurston Farrell, Charles Wickler; Wausau: Diane Shabino; Wauwatosa: Andrew Acker, Jordan Acker Anderson; Whitewater: Christine B. Miller; Wind Lake: Ann Schubert; Wind Point: Catherine Gaspero


Image: Cary Hunkel, Madison, It Takes a Village, 2020, Transparent watercolor. Photography Courtesy of the Artist