Chicago Architecture Biennial Announces 2017 Participants

The Chicago Architecture Biennial announced participants for its second edition, Make New History, scheduled to open September 16, 2017. The biennial, led by artistic directors Sharon Johnston and Mark Lee of Johnston Marklee, will feature the work of more than 100 architects, artists, designers and firms from around the world.

Local participants include Ania Jaworska (featured in the fall 2016 issue of Chicago Gallery News and represented by Volume Gallery), Daniel Everett, David Schalliol, Design With Company, Iñigo Manglano-Ovalle, Marshall Brown (recently exhibited at the Arts Club of Chicago and Western Exhibitions), Norman Kelley (represented by Volume Gallery), Paul Andersen and Paul Preissner, Robert Somol, Tigerman McCurry Architects and UrbanLab (designed Shane Campbell Gallery's South Loop space). 

The full list of 2017 participants includes:

51N4E (Brussels, Belgium; Tirana, Albania) 
6A Architects (London, UK) 
Ábalos+Sentkiewicz (Madrid, Spain; 
Cambridge, USA; Shanghai, China) 
Adamo-Faiden (Buenos Aires, Argentina) 
AGENdA agencia de arquitectura (Medellin, Colombia) 
Aires Mateus (Lisbon, Portugal) 
Ana Prvački and SO-IL (Los Angeles, USA; New York, USA) 
Andrew Kovacs (Los Angeles, USA) 
Angela Deuber Architect (Chur, Switzerland) 
Ania Jaworska (Chicago, USA) 
Aranda\Lasch and Terrol Dew Johnson (New York, USA; Tucson, USA) 
Archi-Union (Shanghai, China) 
Architecten de Vylder Vinck Taillieu (Ghent, Belgium) 
Arno Brandlhuber and Christopher Roth (Berlin, Germany) 
Atelier Manferdini (Venice, USA) 
AWP office for territorial reconfiguration (Paris, France; London, UK) 
Bak Gordon Arquitectos (Lisbon, Portugal) 
Barbas Lopes (Lisbon, Portugal) 
Barkow Leibinger (Berlin, Germany) 
baukuh (Milan, Italy) 
Besler & Sons LLC (Los Angeles, USA) 
BLESS (Berlin, Germany) 
Caruso St John (London, UK) 
Charlap Hyman & Herrero (Los Angeles, USA; New York, USA) 
Charles Waldheim (Cambridge, USA) 
Christ & Gantenbein (Basel, Switzerland) 
Daniel Everett (Chicago, USA; Salt Lake City, USA) 
David Schalliol (Chicago, USA) 
Dellekamp Arquitectos (Mexico City, Mexico) 
Design With Company (Chicago, USA) 
Diego Arraigada Arquitectos (Rosario, Argentina) 
DOGMA (Brussels, Belgium) 
DRDH (London, UK) 
ENSAMBLE STUDIO (Madrid, Spain; Boston, USA) 
Éric Lapierre Architecture (Paris, France) 
Estudio Barozzi Veiga (Barcelona, Spain) 
fala atelier (Porto, Portugal) 
Filip Dujardin (Ghent, Belgium) 
Fiona Connor and Erin Besler (Los Angeles, USA; Auckland, New Zealand) 
First Office (Los Angeles, USA) 
formlessfinder (New York, USA) 
Frida Escobedo (Mexico City, Mexico) 
Gerard and Kelly (Los Angeles, USA; New York, USA) 
Go Hasegawa (Tokyo, Japan) 
HHF Architects (Basel, Switzerland) 
Iñigo Manglano-Ovalle (Chicago, USA) 
J. MAYER H. und Partner, Architekten and Philip Ursprung (Berlin, Germany) 
James Welling (New York, USA) 
Jesús Vassallo (Houston, USA) 
Jorge Otero-Pailos (New York, USA) 
June14 Meyer-Grohbrügge & Chermayeff (New York, USA; Berlin, Germany) 
Karamuk * Kuo Architects (New York, USA; Zurich, Switzerland) 
Keith Krumwiede (New York, USA) 
Kéré Architecture (Berlin, Germany) 
Kuehn Malvezzi (Berlin, Germany) 
Luisa Lambri (Milan, Italy) 
Lütjens Padmanabhan Architekten (Zurich, Switzerland) 
Made In (Geneva, Switzerland; Zurich, Switzerland) 
MAIO (Barcelona, Spain) 
Marianne Mueller (Zurich, Switzerland) 
Marshall Brown (Chicago, USA) 
MG&Co. (Houston, USA) 
MONADNOCK (Rotterdam, The Netherlands) 
MOS (New York, USA) 
Norman Kelley (Chicago, USA; New York, USA) 
Nuno brandåo costa arquitectos Ida (Porto, Portugal) 
OFFICE Kersten Geers David Van Severen (Brussels, Belgium) 
PASCAL FLAMMER (Zurich, Switzerland) 
Patrick Braouezec (Paris, France) 
Paul Andersen and Paul Preissner (Chicago, USA; Denver, USA) 
Pezo Von Ellrichshausen (Concepción, Chile) 
Philipp Schaerer (Zurich, Switzerland) 
PRODUCTORA (Mexico City, Mexico) 
REAL Foundation (London, UK) 
Robert Somol (Chicago, USA) 
SADAR+VUGA (Ljubljana, Slovenia) 
Sam Jacob Studio (London, UK) 
SAMI-arquitectos (Setubal, Portugal) 
SANAA (Tokyo, Japan) 
Sauter von Moos (Basel, Switzerland) 
Sergison Bates (London, UK; Zurich, Switzerland) 
Serie Architects (London, UK; Zurich, Switzerland) 
Stan Allen Architect (New York, USA) 
Studio Anne Holtrop (Muharraq, Bahrain; Amsterdam, The Netherlands) 
Studiomumbai (Mumbai, India) 
Sylvia Lavin (Los Angeles, USA) 
T+E+A+M (Ann Arbor, USA) 
Tatiana Bilbao Estudio (Mexico City, Mexico) 
Tham & Videgård Arkitekter (Stockholm, Sweden) 
The Empire (Verona, Italy) 
The Living (New York, USA) 
The Los Angeles Design Group (Los Angeles, USA) 
Thomas Baecker Bettina Kraus (Berlin, Germany) 
Tigerman McCurry Architects (Chicago, USA) 
Toshiko Mori Architect (New York, USA) 
UrbanLab (Chicago, USA; Los Angeles, USA) 
Urbanus (Shenzhen, China; Beijing, China) 
Veronika Kellndorfer (Berlin, Germany) 
Work Architecture Company (New York, USA) 
Zago Architecture (Los Angeles, USA) 
ZAO/standardarchitecture (Shanghai, China)

For CGN's past coverage of the biennial visit: 

Top image: Johnston Marklee and Gramazio Kohler, Chicago Rooms Center, © Chicago Architecture Biennial / Tom Harris, 2015