Richard H. Driehaus Museum


The Richard H. Driehaus Museum engages and inspires the global community through exploration and ongoing conversations in art, architecture, and design of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Its permanent collection and temporary exhibitions are presented in an immersive experience within the restored Samuel Mayo Nickerson Mansion, completed in 1883, at the height of the Gilded Age, and the 1926 Murphy Auditorium. The Museum’s collection reflects and is inspired by the collecting interests, vision, and focus of its founder, the late Richard H. Driehaus.

The Museum is located just steps from the Magnificent Mile. The exquisite building was saved twice, first by a collective of over 100 Chicago citizens in 1919, and then by philanthropist Richard H. Driehaus, who sponsored its restoration from 2003-2008.

More information is available at driehausmuseum.org

 

The Museum offers both private and guided tours and has a downloadable app for a self-guided experience. Consult the website for more information

Image: The Main Hall. Photo by Steve Hall of Hedrich Blessing, 2008.

40 E. Erie Nickerson Mansion Chicago, IL 60611
312-482-8933
Executive Director, Lisa Key
info@driehausmuseum.org
www.driehausmuseum.org
W 11–3; Th 11–5; F 10–5; Sa 10–5; Su 11–5

Past Events